DME Subcommittee News



In June 2016, the NC Board of Pharmacy DME Subcommittee will hold an election for the Medical Oxygen Supplier representative seat. This seat is presently held by David Keesee, who does not plan to seek a second term on the committee. The Board is requesting nominations for this position between now and April 1, 2016.

The Medical Oxygen Supplier representative must practice in the particular area for which he or she is nominated, but need not practice exclusively in that area. If interested in becoming a candidate for this position, a person-in-charge (“PIC”) of a DME facility (who is the permit holder for purposes of North Carolina law) who also meets the practice area qualification stated above may submit a petition to appear on the June ballot.

The petitioner must be a registered North Carolina DME permit holder (PIC) as of March 15, 2016. The petition must be accompanied by signatures of ten (10) actively registered North Carolina DME PICs. The petition, along with the required 10 original signatures, must be filed in the Board office or postmarked by April 1, 2016. Anyone wishing to learn more about the duties of a DME subcommittee member may contact Cindy Parham, NCBOP Investigations and Inspections Coordinator, at

All North Carolina DME permit holders residing in the state as of March 15, 2016 are eligible to vote. Voting will be electronic again this year; a DME PIC will log in to his/her individual Board account to cast an electronic ballot. More details, including instructions for requesting a paper ballot if preferred, will follow in the coming weeks and will be posted here.




Election for Rehabilitation Technology Supplier Subcommittee Seat.
In June 2015, the NC Board of Pharmacy DME Subcommittee held an election for the Rehabilitation Technology Supplier representative seat. This seat was held by DME Subcommittee member Edward Dressen, who ran unopposed and was re-elected by NC DME permit holders to serve a second term.

The members of the NC Board of Pharmacy certified the election results at their July 21, 2015 meeting. Mr. Dressen will serve for four years.

The Board congratulates Mr. Dressen and would like to thank all NC DME permit holders who cast votes in this year's election.

The next DME Subcommittee election will be held in 2016 for the Medical Oxygen Supplier seat, presently held by Mr. David Keesee. Questions regarding the election should be directed to Cindy Parham, NCBOP Investigations and Inspections Coordinator, at



Minutes of past NC Board of Pharmacy DME Committee Meetings:

April 23, 2013 minutes

October 30, 2012 minutes

April 24, 2012 minutes

November 8, 2011 minutes

April 26, 2011 minutes

April 27, 2010 minutes

November 3, 2009 minutes

April 28, 2009 minutes

October 28, 2008 minutes

April 22, 2008 minutes

October 23, 2007 minutes

July 24, 2007 minutes

April 24, 2007 minutes

January 23, 2007 minutes

October 10, 2006 minutes

July 11, 2006 minutes

April 25, 2006 minutes

January 24, 2006 minutes

Read Marcia Ladd's article from the July/August 2006 NCAMES News.


Committee History

In 1982 the General Assembly enacted legislation requiring all places from where medical devices are dispensed or delivered to users in this State be registered with the Board of Pharmacy. The law was amended in 1994 to include the registration of sites dispensing or otherwise delivering medical equipment to end-users. A second amendment occurred in 2001 when the law was expanded to include any out-of-state device or medical equipment (DME) business doing business in North Carolina.

A committee comprised of two members of the Board of Pharmacy and three practitioners of the device and medical equipment industry was formed to make recommendations in disciplinary matters and render decisions on rule-interpretation. The Board staff began registering and inspecting sites in 1995.

Current Members (from left to right): Joey McLaughlin, Karen Link Womack, Marcia Ladd (Chairwoman), and Mel Elliott. Not pictured: Parker Chesson.